12.8 C
Wednesday, October 4, 2023

America’s Road Team Announced

America’s Road Team Announced  

American Trucking Associations announced the 34 professional truck drivers named as finalists for the 2019-2020 term of America’s Road Team.

America’s Road Team, a group of professional truck drivers with superior safety records, was created in 1986 to represent the trucking industry and is sponsored by Volvo Trucks. Captains, with support from their companies, dedicate a few days each month to attend industry events, speak at schools, or meet policymakers on behalf of the trucking industry.

“ATA believes the men and women who work safely day after day to deliver our goods – truck drivers – are the best representatives of the trucking industry and we are inspired by the finalists for the upcoming class of America’s Road Team,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear. “Throughout the evaluation process, we read and heard stories from truck drivers about pride, courage, and selflessness – the kinds of stories we are excited to share with the public, media and elected officials.”

The 34 finalists advance to the final round of the selection process, being held January 27-30 in Arlington, Virginia. A panel of evaluators, including industry officials and trucking news media representatives, will judge the contenders on their knowledge of the trucking industry, dedication to safety, ability to communicate the industry’s messages and overall safe driving record. The finalists, with a combined total of 90 million safe-driving miles and 946 years as professional truck drivers, are highway safety experts eager to share their experiences with the motoring public.

The newly chosen 2019-2020 America’s Road Team will be announced on January 30 following a ceremony on Capitol Hill in Washington. New Captains, after receiving their signature navy blue America’s Road Team blazer, will begin working to share the industry’s message of safety, essentiality and sustainability with the motoring public, media, business groups, public officials and their fellow truck drivers around the country.

“The trucking industry has millions of truck drivers who work tirelessly to safely deliver goods to our communities, so it is a major responsibility to represent that workforce as an America’s Road Team Captain,” said ATA COO and Executive Vice President of Industry Affairs Elisabeth Barna. “These finalists, and all the nominees, are valuable representatives for our industry and we are looking forward to meeting them in January and welcoming a new team to join the proud legacy of being an America’s Road Team Captain.”

To be nominated to serve as an America’s Road Team Captain, professional truck drivers must be employed or leased to an ATA member company. Each nominee should have an excellent safety record, and should demonstrate an ability to communicate his or her commitment to safety and passion for the industry. Nominees should also portray a positive image of the professional truck driver in all that they do.

This year’s finalists hail from 22 different states, haul a diverse assortment of products and materials, and range from short-haul drivers to over-the-road drivers operating in all of the lower 48 states. The finalists represent a cross-section of the industry with experience ranging from 6 years to 55 years as professional truck drivers with anywhere from 600,000 to 6.9 million safe driving miles.

The finalists are:

Ronald Baird, Hoffman Transportation/G&D Trucking; Thorntown, Indiana

William C. Bennett III, UPS Freight; Maytown, Pennsylvania

Dale Brenaman, UPS Freight; Stamping Ground, Kentucky

Sammy Brewster, ABF Freight; Powder Springs, Georgia

Jorge Chavez, Jetco Delivery; Houston, Texas

Timothy Chelette, Big G Express; Murfreesboro, Tennessee

James Clark, Penske Logistics; Otter Lake, Michigan

April Coolidge, USA Truck; Mint Hill, North Carolina

Scott Davis, ABF Freight; Kearney, Missouri

Jesse Wayne Dennis, Prime Inc.; Springfield, Missouri

Ken Duncan, Walmart Transportation; Gorham, Maine

Douglas Frombaugh, FedEx Freight; Carlisle, Pennsylvania

William Goins, Old Dominion Freight Line; Cloverdale, Indiana

Billy Hambrick, Werner Enterprises; Yoder, Wyoming

Russell James, YRC Freight; Bonner, Montana

Ronnie Luckadoo, UPS Freight; Forest City, North Carolina

Gary Martin, FedEx Ground; Galt, California

William McNamee, Carbon Express; Christopher, Illinois

Dave Peterson, FedEx Ground; Blaine, Minnesota

Tine Peterson, FedEx Ground; Blaine, Minnesota

Brian Petrovcic, ABF Freight; McAlisterville, Pennsylvania

Robert Preston, Werner Enterprises; Winder, Georgia

Roger Price, TCW Inc.; Olive Branch, Mississippi

Jeff Rose, YRC Freight; Creston, Ohio

Rodney Rutledge, FedEx Freight; La Union, New Mexico

Richard Slack Jr., TCW Inc.; Savannah, Georgia

Theldorine Sova, Prime Inc.; Sacramento, California

James Starr, Groendyke Transportation; Wichita, Kansas

Clarence Taylor, Walmart Transportation; North Chesterfield, Virginia

Paul Wahlster, Holland; Rolling Prairie, Indiana

Nicolette Weaver, FedEx Freight; New Bloomfield, Pennsylvania

Todd Wilemon, ABF Freight; Fulton, Mississippi

James Gragg Wilson, FedEx Freight; Reno, Nevada

Ronald Vandermark, UPS Freight; Delran, New Jersey