21.8 C
Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Volvo Trucks to Again Recognize Safest North American Fleets with Annual Safety Award


Volvo Trucks will once again recognize North America’s safest fleets with the Volvo Trucks Safety Award. Two fleets with the safest driving records and top safety programs will receive the annual award and $25,000 to be used toward their safety-related activities.

 “Safety is a top issue each year for Volvo Trucks and the entire industry,” said Göran Nyberg, president, Volvo Trucks North American Sales & Marketing. “It’s no coincidence that Volvo trucks are known for their exceptional safety features – it’s by design. The Volvo cab, safety cage and other passive safety features are in place to protect drivers, and our portfolio of integrated active safety technologies, like Volvo Enhanced Cruise and standard Volvo Enhanced Stability Technology, benefit all motorists. Safe trucking operations are also by design, so we’re pleased to again recognize the best performers.”

 Volvo Trucks will again be joined by Michelin America Truck Tires in sponsoring the annual award. Now in its sixth year, the Volvo Trucks Safety Award highlights the importance of highway safety for the trucking industry and the motoring public. Michelin has been a supporting sponsor of the award since 2010.

 “Michelin Americas Truck Tires is proud to help sponsor the Volvo Trucks Safety Award,” said Mike Cain, Michelin Americas Truck Tires vice president of original equipment. “This award embodies the commitment to safety that is shared by both Volvo Trucks and Michelin and we are thrilled to again participate in recognizing the safest truck fleets in North America.”

 The Volvo Trucks Safety Award is open to all U.S. and Canadian fleets operating at least five Class 8 units. Fleets must have at least one Volvo tractor in operation to be eligible for the award. Entrants will be ranked by their accident frequency rates. Participating fleets will also be judged on their accident prevention activities.

 The deadline for entry is July 31, 2014. The award winners will be announced during the American Trucking Associations’ Management Conference & Exhibition in October 2014. The two grand prizes will be awarded to the fleets with the best records in two divisions based on annual vehicle miles traveled: less than 20 million miles and more than 20 million miles.

 Complete rules and entry forms are available at www.volvotrucks.us.com/safetyaward.

 Tidewater Transit Co., Inc. of Kinston, N.C. received the 2013 Volvo Trucks Safety Award in the over 20 million miles category. MCO Transport, Inc. of Wilmington, N.C. won the Volvo Trucks Safety Award in the under 20 million miles category. To view all previous Safety Award recipients, click here or visit http://www.volvotrucks.com/trucks/na/en-us/fleet_safety_awards/winners.