21.8 C
Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Canadian Carriers Win Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) Safety Awards


Six Canadian fleets were honoured for safety excellence by the Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) through its National Fleet Safety Awards.

The awards honour trucking companies that demonstrate a superior commitment to safety and accident reduction. There were 18 winners announced today, including the six Canadian carriers. Two will be awarded grand prizes at the TCA convention in March.

The Canadian winners included: Brian Kurtz Trucking and MacKinnon Transport (Division II 5-14.99 million miles); Groupe Robert (Division V 50-99.99 million miles); Bison Transport (Division VI 100+ million miles); and N. Yanke Transfer and Erb International (Division IV 25-49.99 million miles).

Winners were selected based on their accident frequency per million miles driven coupled with an independent audit.

Grand prizes will be awarded in two categories: Less than 25 million miles; and 25 million or more annual miles. To win the grand prize, companies will also have to demonstrate their overall safety programs, both on- and off-highway, including driver/independent contractor selection procedures, training, supervision, accident investigation, equipment maintenance and other activities related to highway safety.