14.3 C
Thursday, May 30, 2024

Bison Driver, Driver of the Year

The Manitoba Trucking Association and Volvo Trucks Canada are pleased to announce this year’s Manitoba Driver of the Year is Roger Maltman of Bison Transport.

The MTA annually recognizes 10 drivers who epitomize excellence in the trucking industry. These Industry Excellence Award Winners have demonstrated a commitment to the trucking industry, safety, and customer service.

From the Industry Excellence winners, one recipient emerges to win the Manitoba Driver of the Year Award. This award is sponsored by Volvo Trucks Canada.

Roger Maltman of Bison Transport has spent decades on the roads. For many years he was a long haul highway driver and has been winning safety awards from his employer for over 20 years.

His employer describes him as “one who takes pride in what he does on a daily basis and holds himself to a standard which can be used as an example to other drivers in the company. His relationship with his fleet is outstanding. He is always willing to help out when they have a problem with a load. He is reliable and never complains. He believes that everyone works together to be successful.”

This combined with his 40 plus years of driving experience, Roger has never had a preventable accident. His training and safety courses include nearly every type of training imaginable, including first aid.

As the Provincial Driver of the Year, Roger is now eligible for the Canadian Trucking Alliance/ Volvo Trucks Canada National Driver of the Year Award.

The Industry Excellence Awards and the Driver of the Year were presented on Saturday June 18 at the Truck Driving Championships banquet at the Victoria Inn hotel in Winnipeg.