13.8 C
Friday, June 21, 2024

TCA announces national Fleet Safety Awards

Canadian Carriers Well Represented.

From many entries across the United States and Canada, the Truckload Carriers Association has selected the division winners for its prestigious National Fleet Safety Awards. Sponsored by Great West Casualty Co., the awards honour trucking companies that demonstrate a superior commitment to safety and accident reduction.

“Truckload carriers are constantly striving to improve overall safety while out on the roads,” said Holly Caskey, TCA’s safety and security division chair and vice president of driver training for Dart Transit Co., Eagen, Minn. “It takes a lot of work, and it’s a tremendous achievement when you can boast a very safe record, so we want to showcase that via this contest.”
Below are the names of the 2015 top divisional winners based on low accident frequency ratios per million miles. Companies are listed according to the order that they placed within each category.

Division I Winners (under 5 million miles)
Stageline Express, Coopersville, Mich.
FTC Transportation, Oklahoma City, Okla.
Rocha Transportation, Modesto, Calif.

Division II Winners (5-14.99 million miles)
MacKinnon Transport, Guelph, Ontario
Hi-Tech Express, Roseville, Minn.
Landstar Express America, Jacksonville, Fla.

Division III Winners (15-24.99 million miles)
Smokey Point Distributing, Arlington, Wash.
High Country Transportation, Midlothian, Texas

Division IV Winners (25-49.99 million miles)
Halvor Lines, Superior, Wis.
Trans-West, Lachine, Québec
Erb International, New Hamburg, Ontario

Division V Winners (50-99.99 million miles)
Groupe Robert, Rougemont, Québec
May Trucking Co., Salem, Ore.
Cargo Transporters, Claremont, N.C.

Division VI Winners (100+ million miles)
Bison Transport, Winnipeg, Manitoba
Interstate Distributor, Tacoma, Wash.
Landstar Ranger, Jacksonville, Fla.

The division winners were selected based on their accident frequency per million miles driven for each of the six mileage-based divisions listed above. The numbers were verified by an audit conducted by an independent expert. The division winners will be recognized at an awards ceremony to be held during TCA’s Annual Convention, March 6-9, at the Wynn Las Vegas Resort in Las Vegas, Nev. They will be recognized again during TCA’s Safety & Security Division Annual Meeting, to be held May 22-24 at the Worthington Renaissance in Fort Worth, Texas.

For the next step of the competition, the division winners will compete for two grand prizes, one in the “less than 25 million annual miles” category and one in the “25 million or more annual miles” category. To win the grand prize, companies will be judged on their overall safety programs, both on- and off-highway, including employee driver and independent contractor selection procedures, training, supervision, accident investigation, inspection and maintenance of equipment, and outside activities including general highway safety.

As with the division winners, the two grand prize winners will be honoured at an awards ceremony to be held first during TCA’s Annual Convention and then again during TCA’s Safety & Security Division Annual Meeting.