21.2 C
Saturday, July 20, 2024

Goodyear 35th Highway Hero Nominations Now Open


Since 1983, the Goodyear North America Highway Hero program has honoured professional truck drivers who put themselves in harm’s way to help others.

Over the years, truck drivers have often been the first people on the scene to help others who had been the victim of a car crash or another accident. Each year, Goodyear accepts nominations from all over North America for the award. Candidates are then narrowed down to three finalists, and a panel of trucking industry media representatives then selects the Highway Hero Award winner. The 2018 winner will be announced in March at the Mid-America Trucking Show in Louisville, Ky.

Nominees must be full-time truck drivers and reside in the United States or Canada, and the incident must have occurred between Nov. 16, 2016, and Nov. 16, 2017. Finalists must also pass a background check.

Last year’s winner, David Webb, of Billings, Mont., won $5,000, a ring, and a trophy.

David and his wife, Carol Webb, were driving through northern Washington in June 2016 when they observed a dump truck swerve in the next lane.

“We just thought he was a bad driver,” Carol recalled this past March.

However, David soon saw the dump truck driver slumped over his steering wheel. As the dump truck slowed, David parked his own truck and ran after the still-moving vehicle.

He then jumped onto the dump truck’s running board, opened the door, reached inside and applied the brakes.

As Carol called 911, David and a bystander pulled the driver out of the truck and performed CPR, because the man wasn’t breathing. A few minutes later, paramedics arrived and took the dump truck driver to the hospital. The following day, the Webbs learned the driver awoke from a coma.

“It was a big relief,” David said. “We’re good friends now.”
The other two finalists, Chris Baker and Tim Freiburger, received trophies and a cash prize.

Nominations can be submitted online at the Goodyear website, or by mail to Goodyear Highway Hero Award Headquarters; Dept. 798A; 200 Innovation Way; Akron, OH 44316.

Submissions will be accepted through Nov. 29.