10 C
Thursday, April 18, 2024

ATA Presents Awards at Management Conference & Exhibition

The American Trucking Associations presented several awards at its annual Management Conference & Exhibition, including the Mike Russell Trucking Industry Image Award, the President’s Trucking Association Executives Council Leadership Award, and the Rocque Dameo Award.

“The Mike Russell Trucking Image Award honours motor carriers, industry suppliers, associations and individuals who go above and beyond in drawing positive attention to our industry,” said ATA Chairman Kevin Burch, president of Jet Express. “We can all tout the great things of our companies and employees are doing for the community, but this award is ‘for those who best promote the trucking industry.’”

This year’s winners (pictured above) were:

The Iowa Motor Truck Association for developing an innovative campaign to encourage their members to promote the industry by awarding points for various activities.

Help Inc., whose support of ATA’s Share the Road program, National Truck Driver Appreciation Week, Truckers Against Trafficking and the efforts of our state trucking associations, along with a series of safety quizzes promoted a positive safety message for the trucking industry.

Garner Trucking for their extensive community engagement, including generous support of Trucking Moves America Forward and their participation in the trailer wrap program; offering technician scholarships and sponsoring their local American Legion baseball team; participating in the inaugural class of LEAD ATA; and delivering water to Flint, MI., during that city’s water crisis.

Professional truck driver John Lex, Walmart Transportation, an America’s Road Team Captain and the Georgia Truck Driver of the Year, for being a tremendous spokesman and a public face for America’s truck drivers for many years.

The President’s TAEC Leadership Award was created in 2002 by ATA to honor a state trucking association leader and to create an enduring legacy for that leader and for the industry. The award comes with a $10,000 grant for a non-profit 501(c)(3) trucking education or research organization chosen by the winner. This year’s winner was Brenda Neville, president of the Iowa Motor Truck Association.

As head of IMTA, Neville led a successful campaign to raise Iowa’s gas tax, has overseen the Iowa Motor Carriers Foundation which has distributed $180,000 in scholarships to young Iowans, is an ardent supporter of ATA and works tirelessly with ATA’s membership team to promote the association. She is also an annual participant in the Call on Washington program, has worked closely with LEAD ATA to develop future industry leaders and has on several occasions come to Washington to participate in ATA’s state executive orientation program to help educate new state executives on how to run their association.

ATA started honoring its state vice presidents with the Dameo Award in 2014. The award comes with a $5,000 contribution to the winner’s state trucking association. Greg Brown, vice president of the Alabama Trucking Association, was the 2016 winner.

“The Dameo Award recognizes Greg’s work as an ATA state vice president – working with his fellow trucking executives to advance the goals of our industry and association,” said ATA Senior Vice President for Membership Dave Brodie. “Without leaders like Greg, ATA would be unable to do the important work our members ask us to do, so we thank him and all our state vice presidents.”