15.2 C
Sunday, June 23, 2024



MADISON, Wisc. –  The Frank W. Babbitt Award is given to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding service to the trucking industry and association as a whole.

The 2014 winner is Ellen Voie,founder and CEO of Women in Trucking.  The award was announced during the Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association (WMCA) annual convention.

“Ellen has been a strong advocate for women who are either married to a driver or are a driver themselves – she is most deserving of this award,” said WMCA president Neal Kedzie. “Not only is she a leader for women in trucking, she is a leader in the trucking industry as a whole and her innovative ideas and concern for all truck drivers is to be commended and celebrated.”

Voie founded Women in Trucking in 2007 and in 2012, she was honoured by the White House as a Transportation Innovators Champion of Change.  Voie also co-founded Loved Ones and Drivers Support (LOADS) previous to founding Women in Trucking.

“I am truly honoured for the recognition and award from the Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association,” she said. “My goal has always been to improve the trucking industry for the men and women who choose a career in transportation, and find it as rewarding as I have.”